2018 Wesbank SA Car of the Year Semi-Finalists Announced

This post has already been read 171 times!

Following a vote by the full and fellow membership of the South African Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ), on new vehicle ranges introduced to the South African new car market within the COTY eligibility period, the SAGMJ is proud to announce the semi-finalist contenders for the 2018 WesBank South African Car of the Year competition (COTY), in alphabetical order:
Alfa Romeo Giulia
Audi Q2
Audi Q5
BMW 5 Series
Honda BR-V
Honda CR-V
Hyundai Creta
Hyundai Elantra
Kia Picanto
Kia Sportage
Land Rover Discovery
Mini Countryman
Mitsubishi Pajero Sport
Nissan Navara
Peugeot 3008
Porsche Panamera
Renault Megane
Suzuki Baleno
Suzuki Ignis
Toyota C-HR
Volvo S90

With the sole aim of rewarding automotive excellence, the 2018 COTY Jury will put the finalists through structured testing procedures at the end of January 2018, before scoring each finalist against its direct class competitors on aspects that include:
Cabin Styling, Layout, and Ergonomics
Engine Performance and Technology
Engineering Integrity and Build Quality
Exterior Design
Overall Excellence
Ride Quality
Steering and Handling
New Technology
Transmission Performance
Value for Money

The SA Guild of Motoring Journalists has run the SA Car of the Year competition since 1986, with WesBank – the leading South African vehicle finance institution – as its headline sponsor since inception. Once again, both AutoTrader and MAPO will supply support sponsorship. AutoTrader is South Africa’s largest online motoring portal and will assist the SAGMJ as marketing sponsor, while MAPO provides the world-first COTY digital scoring system used during the COTY Jury selection, Semi-Finalist and Finalist selection as well as the evaluation days.

During the next few days, the 2018 COTY Jury will conclude voting for the finalist vehicle ranges that will compete in the 2018 WesBank South African Car Of The Year competition, which will be announced at the Bryanston Country Club on Tuesday, 19 September 2017.

The 2018 WesBank South African Car Of The Year winner will be announced at an evening function to be held in March 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *