Collective bargaining negotiations 2022

On 21 and 22 April 2022, the parties to the Motor Industry Bargaining Council (MIBCO) commenced collective bargaining negotiations in anticipation of the termination of the main- and administrative collective agreement on 31 August 2021.

All parties to the council have submitted their preliminary needs and demands in March 2022. The RMI did so by taking a provisional mandate through its various constituent associations. These preliminary needs and demands were clarified during the first round of negotiations on 21 & 22 April 2022.

We will be conducting mandating engagements with members during May 2022 in preparation for the second round of negotiation which will be taking place on 1 & 2 June 2022. The dates of the mandating engagements will be communicated in due course. We will keep you updated throughout the negotiations process, but if you do have any queries, kindly contact your local IR Specialist:

-Central (Johannesburg & Pretoria)

IR specialist: Aphelele Tapile & IR specialist: Jeff Molefe. Tel: (011) 886 6300

aphelele.tapile@rmi.org.za & Jeff.Molefe@rmi.org.za

-Cape Town

IR specialist: Brent Barichievy & IR specialist: Johanita Olivier

Tel: (021) 939 9440. Brent.barichievy@rmi.org.za & Johanita.olivier@rmi.org.za

-Bloemfontein

IR specialist: Marie Ellis. Tel: (051) 430 3294. marie.ellis@rmi.org.za

-Port Elizabeth

IR specialist: Brent Barichievy & IR specialist: Johanita Olivier

Tel: (021) 939 9440. Brent.barichievy@rmi.org.za & Johanita.olivier@rmi.org.za

-Durban

IR specialist: Janina Kalidass. Tel: (031) 266 7031. Janina.kalidass@rmi.org.za