Retail Motor Industry Organisation

Mail Us

Customer Support

Find an

Accredited Member


Update on Administrative Adjudication of Road Traffic Offences Amendment (Aarto) Bill

Rtia Aarto

In July 2021 the phased AARTO National Rollout Programme was announced by the Road Traffic Infringement Agency (RTIA) with an indication that it will span from 01 July 2021. In that statement, it was pointed out that the last phase of the Rollout Programme will wrap up the entire implementation by 01 July 2022 with the Points Demerit System and Driver Rehabilitation Programmes being introduced.

According to RTIA, the phases of the roll-out will be implemented as follows:

  • Phase 1 –   1 July to 30 September  2021  –  Communication of AARTO systems and legislation, AARTO website, NaTIS payment systems and seven service outlets to be in place.
  • Phase 2   –  1 October to 31 December 2021 – AARTO to be implemented in 67 Municipalities, 18 service outlets, the introduction of electronic service of documents, rehabilitation programmes, and Appeals Tribunal to be established.
  • Phase 3 – 1 January to 30 June 2022  –  AARTO to be implemented in the remainder of municipalities (144 municipalities).
  • Phase 4 – 1 July 2022  –  Demerit points to be introduced and a further 20 AARTO service kiosks to be established.

RTIA further stated that the AARTO website capabilities ( would allow a person to register and log in on the AARTO site to check for infringement notices, nominate drivers, make representations and receive payment information. There is also an AARTO mobile application that may be downloaded for use on smartphones and similar devices.

In a press release on 1 October 2021, RTIA confirmed that Implementation partners in the AARTO value chain were all on board as the preparations for the full-scale national rollout were intensifying. There was an adjustment of the current incremental introduction of Phase 2 projected to culminate on 01 December 2021 to coincide with the National Road Safety Festive Season programme launch.

It was confirmed that the project implementation was on track for all 4 phases as announced on 01 July 2021 to culminate in Phase 4 on 01 July 2022 when the Points Demerit System and Driver Rehabilitation Programmes will become a reality for non-compliant road users in terms of road traffic legislation.

The RMI will continue to keep its valued members updated on developments in this regard. Any specific queries relating to the Aarto roll-out may be directed to the RTIA Spokesperson, Monde Mkalipi on 0825753976.